You didn’t right this write

I have good days and I have bad days. I make mistakes. You make mistakes. We all make mistakes.

I apologise for the one I send you, but generally my mistakes are small ones. As an editor I might miss out a typo or two.

Sending me an e-mail berating my work and saying I need to take more care is perhaps a little over the top, but I understand why you might want 100%. I don’t understand why you’d expect it, but nevertheless I get your point.

A few things that will completely undermine your point, however:
– highlighting things that are, in fact, correct
– forgetting an attachment, that ruins any old rant
– pointing out that what I’ve done is actually to brief and that the mistake was yours in the first place (and don’t follow through and lie with this, I’ve got it all in old e-mails)

And my personal favourite:
– sending an e-mail with more mistakes than you’ve highlighted in the piece of work

No, what would be much better than any of that would be to start an anonymous blog chastising all and sundry. That’ll show them.

4 Responses to You didn’t right this write

  1. The irony is the mistake in this post…’to brief’ should probably be ‘too brief’ – but I get your point. It’s annoying and trivial. Just a little schoolboy error.

    • That’s not a mistake — I mean brief as in ‘a set of instructions given to a person about a job or task’ rather than ‘short or concise’. That sentence is pointing out that I’ve done thing as per their instructions rather than anything about length.

  2. khellriegel says:

    Great Post!

    I always enjoy it when some jerk writes to me about how stupid I am and the complaint email is full of mistakes. Takes the wind right out of their sails.

    Keep up the good work!

    Sincerely,

    Kevin
    http://khellriegel.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

